Service Provider Network Maturity Model – Phase 4: Federation of SDN

The SDN (Solution Delivery Network)/NFV (Network Function Virtualization) maturity in a service provider environment has been divided into five (5) major levels of maturity. The goal is for each phase to have, qualitatively measured, a significant level of improvement from the previous phase and have surpassed a major hurdle. These phases are called NMM1– 5, that is, Network Maturity Model (NMM) Phase 1, 2, 3, 4 and then 5.

Federation of SDN (Solution Delivery Network)

Key Outcomes: Federation vertically oriented controllers and orchestrators.

Key Benefits: VNF End-to-end network view that enables network orchestration.

The key in this phase is an end-to-end network view which includes the backhaul. Success in this phase allows applications/services to take advantage of the entire network, including tasks such as data centre power optimization and network traffic engineering.

The controller-of-controllers and orchestrator-of-orchestrators (i.e., CMP) will have visibility and control of the once-isolated domain controllers. In previous phases (NMM1–3), the domain controllers were isolated. Due to the isolation of domain controllers, an end-to-end network view or complete control of the entire network was not possible. NMM4 is characterized by the orchestration of any domain to other domains in the entire network.

Network-wide KPI monitoring and alerts are available, but closed-loop handling is delayed until NMM5.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to top
Please wait...

Subscribe to our newsletter

Want to be notified when our article is published? Enter your email address and name below to be the first to know.